cleaning a poorly recorded song

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• cleaning a poorly recorded song

How can i clean the audio of a song that i recorded on tape by an external low quality mike from the TV in 1976 and now i transferred it to my computer as a wav format file,the sound appears full of distorted echos and noise and generally indistiguishable,the voice of the singer appears as if heard from a cheap small transistor radio of the 60s,the ez clean did not offer a solution nor the wall brick filter,as both seemed to supress more audio,leaving the original one more good, the continuous noise filter[after sampling the noise] improved ithe song a bit by removing hiss but made the sound appear as if in the [bass mood] of early cassette recorders. I need your help please.Sorry for my many questions,but I am new to the program
    Last edited by Craig Maier; 09-09-2019, 11:26 AM.

You might consider trying the Spectral Subtraction mode in the CNF. After taking the noise sample, vary the attenuation control for the best sound. That may help. But, from your description, you are dealing with an audio problem that borders on a Forensics one.
    "Who put orange juice in my orange juice?" - - - William Claude Dukenfield

Comment

Hi Carol -

I've worked with a couple of these things - recorded with a mic from a tv in the 60s and also from a pseudo line out (when I was a kid I took the case off a tv and ran wires out from the speaker so I could make recordings). Anyway - here's what I'd do:

First, don't expect a miracle - It's basically an am radio recording made with a cheap mic, so you're not going to get it to sound like a cd. After conceding that, try this:
      1) gain normalize the file
      2) concentrate on making the best out of what's there. Don't worry about taking out the hiss, etc. until you get the best sound you can get.
      use the multi-filter to add eq to accentuate the highs and lows as needed