Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• WAV files skip?

Okay, I am a newbie so bear with me.

When I open a .wav file and hit the "play" button, the music skips backwards as if something were wrong with the file. These files play just fine in all other applications. What is going on?

--Dave E.
    Last edited by Craig Maier; 04-02-2019, 06:01 PM.

First, I need to have some more information.

What is the operating system? What type of sound card do you have? What is the speed of your computer? What type of drivers "MME" or "WDM" are you using (that can be found under the preferences/soundcard menu). What is the sampling rate and resolution (or bit depth) of the file in question (that can be found under the file properties under the View menu)?

Lastly, does the Demo wavefile that comes with the software play ok?

Please advise -

Note: The use of the WDM drivers is preferrable so long as your soundcard supports them.
    Last edited by Craig Maier; 11-14-2006, 11:11 PM.
    "Who put orange juice in my orange juice?" - - - William Claude Dukenfield

Comment

Dave,

Not having heard back from you, I would hazard a guess that the problem was the use of MME drivers selected rather than WDM drivers coupled with a high resolution and / or high sampling rate file.

I am posting this as a suggestion for anyone else who may encounter this kind of situation.

A possible explaination for this is that some sound card manufacturers may not provide good support for high sample rates and high resolution values with MME's, but are ok with WDM's.

Comment

WAV files skip?

Sorry, I've been away doing other things. I have an E-mu 1820m soundcard and mixer. I am running Windows XP Professional. The system is a 2.4GHz Athlon with 1GB of memory.

The files are 44.1KHz 24-bit stereo WAV files. I am using WDM drivers.

The demo files skip also.

--Dave

Comment