Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to remove Waterfall noise from background

Hi Everyone

I am brand new to DC Live Forensics 7.5 and also very inexperienced in restoration of sound files, so please bear with me if I am slow to understand.

I have a copy of the audio from my nephew's wedding ceremony video and unfortunately it is virtually inaudible due to excessive background noise from either a water fountain or a waterfall.

I have tried using EZ clean and continuous noise filters, but these had little or no improvement.
    Can anyone guide me into the process of trying to clean up this audio file so that at least I can hear the voices of the wedding couple and the minister.

Many thanks

Dougal
    Last edited by Craig Maier; 04-07-2019, 05:44 PM.

Hi,

While I have never tried to attenuate waterfall or fountain noises from a recording, the general approach would be as follows:

1. First, apply a bandpass filter to the signal to eliminate out of band noise from the audio.

2. Next, apply one of the following dynamic filters:

A. Continious Noise Filter in normal CNF Mode

B. Continious Noise Filter in Spectral Subtraction Mode

C. Continious Noise Filter in AFDF mode

D. The Time Domain Adaptive Filter (found under the Forensics menu)

Other than that, it is really hard to say without hearing and seeing the actual audio. If you want, send me a 10 second snippet of the audio in .wav format and I will report back to you on my findings. My email is:

dctools@aol.com

Craig
    "Who put orange juice in my orange juice?" - - - William Claude Dukenfield

Comment

Hi Dougal,

I took a shot at that file that you sent; you should have it for review. Let me know if you think that it is an improvement and then I will send you the filters and settings that I used.

Craig

Comment

Hey Craig -
        Can you post the presets? I'm wondering if they could be adapted to crowd noise.

Dan
        Dan McDonald

Comment

Hi Dan,