Sound Card Recommendations?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sound Card Recommendations?

Hi. I've been using DCart32 for about 2 years, with fairly good results, on a PC with a Sound Blaster card. I'd appreciate recommendations of a higher quality card at a reasonable price. The Hoontech I-Phone Digital XG card mentioned on the DC website appears to be no longer available at the recommended source. Any suggestions will be appreciated. Thanks!
    Last edited by Craig Maier; 04-17-2019, 10:42 AM.

Re: Sound Card Recommendations?

Ken,

I'm in the same boat. I'm about to upgrade. Here's the two cards I'm considering:

M-Audio's Revolution 7.1 ~$99. It's getting consistantly great reviews and is true 24/96, unlike the Audigy cards. The only potential downside is there is no digital in, but M-Audio sells more expensive cards with this feature.
    See http://www.tech-report.com/reviews/2...v/index.x?pg=1

Terratec DMX 6Fire ~$220
    This is a pricey card, but it has some compelling features for me. It is considered the best sounding of the "consumer grade" cards, you'll have to go to even pricier pro grade cards for better specs, if not sound. The big attraction for me is the built in phono pre-amp. The RIAA curve is applied in software and can be toggled off. This will allow me to record my 78's flat, then apply the appropriate EQ with DC-Art. The phono inputs are on a 5 1/4" drivebay insert, so you'll need an empty bay.

See http://www.tech-report.com/reviews/2...s/index.x?pg=8

Good luck on your search. Let us know what you decide on and how you like it.

Doug

Comment

When I started this project of mine I read all I could about the type of equipment I needed. My final choice for a sound card was the CardDelux by Digital Audio. I have been using it now for three years and I have absolutly no complaints. It has both digital and analog in and out.
      http://www.digitalaudio.com/digitala...amp;PubID=4401

Comment