Presets

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Presets

HI I am new at this game and have several Scottish Country Dance wave files to clean up. They were captured using a tube phono preamp so I guess they are a flat recording. I am having trouble with the blend of Accordians, fiddles,bagpipes,drums and piano's. Are there any presets that I can use as a begining to give a natural sound.
    Alan
    Last edited by Craig Maier; 07-31-2019, 03:01 PM.

Are these on 78 rpm records or off LPs?
    2ndly, are you sure your valve phono preamp has a Flat EQ?
    At work I may look like I'm doing nothing, but at the cellular level I'm actually quite busy

Comment

Presets

Hi Doug,
      I am capturing through a Bellari VP129 Tube Phono Preamp & am capuring from both LP's & 78's.
      I think it captures as a Flat EQ but not sure.
      Alan

Comment

No problem Alan,
        From a brief look on the net, that Bellari VP129 Phono Preamp applies RIAA equalization. As such, you don't need to do any additional equalization for LP records.

However, regarding the 78s, you will have to use the virtual phono preamp (VPA) under the "Filter" menu. Set up the virtual phono preamp as follows using the American or European setting, and then run it over your 78s to equalise them correctly:

Let us know how you go.
        At work I may look like I'm doing nothing, but at the cellular level I'm actually quite busy

Comment

Virtual Phono Preamp EQ Curves

What's the syntax of the VPA presets?
          What's the meaning of the numbers in the .pst files?

How can I make a preset for early European LPs (CCIR/DIN) with 3180-318-50 µs?

Jos
          Jos Van Dyck

Comment

Hi,