Tape Restoration Help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tape Restoration Help

Hi - First, let me say that I am new to DC6, but so far, WOW!

My first project is to preserve/restore my reel-to-reel tape library, and boy, do I need some suggestions.

My theory, so far, is that "disk" content (78's, etc.) is that the intelligence is still on the disk, although mask by clicks, pops, etc., but the material is still "in the grooves."

But, what I'm beginning to suspect is that with tape, the intelligence is deteriorating or literally falling off the tape.

When I play some tapes that were recorded back in the early 60's, I find two things - (1) tape hiss and (2) very "boomy" or low end but no highs.

The tape hiss, I think the EZ Clean filter will correct but I'm at a loss as to high to restore the high frequencies that seem to have disappeared over the years - its like the magnetic particles that made up the high end are missing.

Do I attenuate the lows?

Anyone who can help me get started, or who has experience with DC 6 and tape restoration, or who perhaps has some preset filter combinations - I would love to hear from.

Is the intelligence indeed missing from the tape? Is my theory correct?

Help Wanted!

Before talking about the software aspects of things, I am suspicious about the condition of your tape player. All of my old reel to reel tapes from that period of time still retain much of their top end. However, I have encountered problems when the playback head on my tape deck has worn out. Literally, the playback tape head gap becomes much wider than it should be due to wear and then the high frequencies literally disappear, leaving behind mostly a very boomy sounding bass.

So, how do you confirm whether or not this is the problem? There are two ways:

1. Take the machine to an expert and have the person attempt to evaluate and calibrate the machine.